Waikato River Authority announces new board members

The Waikato River Authority has announced three new board members following the retirement of two Iwi and one Crown representative late last year. Two other Crown representatives have been reconfirmed for further terms.

The new board members are Vanessa Eparaima (Raukawa), Weo Maag (Maniapoto) and Traci Houpapa (Crown). In addition, other Crown appointees reconfirmed for a further term of three years are Hon John Luxton (co-chair) and Jenni Vernon.

The Waikato River Authority has a ten-member board that is comprised of five Waikato River Iwi and five Crown appointees and is co-chaired by Mr Luxton and Tukoroirangi Morgan (Tainui).

The Crown appointments are made by the Hon Amy Adams as Minister for the Environment, with the tribal appointments made by individual river Iwi.

The Waikato River Authority marked its 3-year anniversary at the end of November last year, after being established in 2010 following the enactment of Treaty settlement legislation. The Authority is responsible for the vision and strategy for the restoration and protection of the health and wellbeing of the Waikato River.

The Waikato River Authority advocates for an integrated and cohesive approach for clean-up activities across the river catchment that covers 11,000 square kilometres for New Zealand’s longest river.

Over the next 26 years the Authority will administer $250 million to support the achievement of its purpose. Over the past three years the Authority has allocated approximately $16 million to 113 individual river clean-up projects.

A full list of funded projects is available on the Waikato River Authority’s website www.waikatoriver.org.nz and mapped on www.makearipple.co.nz.

For further information contact: Philip Burton, Communication Advisor, Waikato River Authority 021 428748 or 07 8397966